Factory Ford remote start? - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum


Home Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum > Super Duty 1999-Current > 6.4L Power Stroke - Technical Info
Register Members List Timeslips Calendar Auto Loans Sponsors Becoming a Sponsor Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

PowerStrokeNation.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2010, 01:49 AM
Dzchey21's Avatar
Dzchey21
Offline
WWDD
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 10,531
Factory Ford remote start?

Anyone know if you can just buy the module to have remote start added to your truck, i see on the parts stuff that you can buy the harness, module and some sort of sensor, all for about 300 bucks, i would like to know more info and see how hard it would be to do it, i sure would like to have it this time of year and still use a factory key fob and stuff, my last truck had an aftermarket remote start and i didnt really like how it all worked. thanks for the input.
__________________
couple trucks one fast one not
Reply With Quote Go to the top
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-02-2010, 02:18 AM
bbbxcursion
Offline
ARMY bound
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6,990
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

I did this on my Excursion a few years ago. I bought an unused Ford kit on Ebay. It works great, never had any issues.
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #3  
Old 03-02-2010, 02:38 AM
bcangelo's Avatar
bcangelo
Offline
brandon
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Angelo, Texas!
Posts: 777
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

Best Buy has a remote start for 200 bucks if you are looking to save some money. I just had one put on my truck 2 weeks ago.
__________________
2002 f-250 7.3 ex cab automatic, 4'' turbo back magnaflow exhaust. tonneau cover. SOLD
2011 f-250 6.7 Lariat fx4 with lots of extras!!Sold
2011 Screw Ecoboost 4x4 with ALL the options


Quote:
Excuses are like butts, everybody got one and they all stink!
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #4  
Old 03-02-2010, 02:50 AM
Dzchey21's Avatar
Dzchey21
Offline
WWDD
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 10,531
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbbxcursion View Post
I did this on my Excursion a few years ago. I bought an unused Ford kit on Ebay. It works great, never had any issues.
did it pretty much plug and play? thats kinda what im looking for I will spend a little extra dough to have less work involved, i didnt like how i had to tie into the door locks and stuff on my 03, just something i cant see being reliable down the road...
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #5  
Old 03-02-2010, 02:55 AM
bbbxcursion
Offline
ARMY bound
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6,990
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

No plug and play, that would have been nice though. If the connections are done right, there should not be any problems. I see where you're coming from and I'm the exact same way. I thought the Ford would be more plug and play but it wasn't.
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #6  
Old 03-02-2010, 03:00 AM
Dzchey21's Avatar
Dzchey21
Offline
WWDD
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 10,531
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbbxcursion View Post
No plug and play, that would have been nice though. If the connections are done right, there should not be any problems. I see where you're coming from and I'm the exact same way. I thought the Ford would be more plug and play but it wasn't.
Thanks brandon, i will look into it more, i just figured ford could easily tie into the factory key fob to unlock and lock the doors, and could make an easy t for the keyswitch part. My buddy had factory remote start on his 03 and it looked clean under the dash and it looked like things just plugged in.
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #7  
Old 03-02-2010, 03:01 AM
bbbxcursion
Offline
ARMY bound
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6,990
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

I was looking for the same thing you want. I could not find it, but that was 3 or 4 years ago.
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #8  
Old 03-02-2010, 03:04 AM
co04cobra's Avatar
co04cobra
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: 75mi past middle of nowhere WV
Posts: 1,690
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

What years did ford start offering their remote start?
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #9  
Old 03-02-2010, 03:47 AM
Dzchey21's Avatar
Dzchey21
Offline
WWDD
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 10,531
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

well im pretty sure his truck was an 03, could have been dealer installed thou

I think some of them come from the factory but they might be dealer installed as well.
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #10  
Old 03-02-2010, 03:59 AM
JYFarmer's Avatar
JYFarmer
Offline
PSN Insomniac
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 561
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

Did this with an 06. Wasnt offered from the factory. The dealer did it but it was like 700 total. I had the remote start with the alarm and everything. Just from having to deal with the current ford remote start. Id say save your money and go aftermarket. I wish I would have saved my money. The new "factory" system is way worse than the Ford Gold I had the dealer put on.
__________________
2010 King Ranch/Platinum White
Spartan/KEM tuned, AFE, Full 4in Flo Pro(dont do it kids),Elite EGR Delete,Elite Head Studs, Rudy's BOV/CFM Intake, Elite pump/rails, AirDog II
33.12x50R18 on KR wheels


Facebook
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #11  
Old 03-02-2010, 01:21 PM
Dzchey21's Avatar
Dzchey21
Offline
WWDD
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 10,531
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

thanks for the info
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #12  
Old 03-02-2010, 01:36 PM
Blk04Snake's Avatar
Blk04Snake
Offline
PSN Local
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Potsdam, NY
Posts: 299
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

My F250 had remote start.. It was ordered that way. From what I've read they have a separate building next to the KTP that installs this kind of thing. I wasn't too happy with it, had a separate key FOB for the starter and didn't have very good range. Ford has 2 different types of remote starters, one that is the separate FOB and one that has all the buttons for your doors too. These are made by Code Alarm.

I had searched on this for info for the new truck and the best option I've found is a place called KC Autosound... The guy pre-wires the systems specifically for your Ford and provides instructions and has them setup to interface with your door keypad and any other options you desire. Supposedly most of the remote starts out there won't let you retain the door keypad. I'm going to be getting one from him soon so I'll let ya know how it works out.
__________________
2010 F250 Lariat CC/SB, Icon 2.5, 35s on 20s, Spartan, AFE 4" SS Downpipe back. RIP 1/13/10

2010 F350 Lariat CC/SB BDS leveling kit, Bilstein, BMF, Toyo, Recon, N-Fab, Spartan, AFE, Flo-Pro, MBRP
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #13  
Old 03-02-2010, 01:54 PM
bbbxcursion
Offline
ARMY bound
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6,990
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

The system I found had the door locks and remote started in one unit.
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #14  
Old 03-02-2010, 03:31 PM
MudSouth's Avatar
MudSouth
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northwest Mississippi
Posts: 556
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blk04Snake View Post
My F250 had remote start.. It was ordered that way. From what I've read they have a separate building next to the KTP that installs this kind of thing. I wasn't too happy with it, had a separate key FOB for the starter and didn't have very good range. Ford has 2 different types of remote starters, one that is the separate FOB and one that has all the buttons for your doors too. These are made by Code Alarm.

I had searched on this for info for the new truck and the best option I've found is a place called KC Autosound... The guy pre-wires the systems specifically for your Ford and provides instructions and has them setup to interface with your door keypad and any other options you desire. Supposedly most of the remote starts out there won't let you retain the door keypad. I'm going to be getting one from him soon so I'll let ya know how it works out.
I'm real interested in what you come up with also. I had a stick in my last truck so it was out of the question. I did buy one from Best Buy for my wifes Maxima. But because Nissan has auto door delay locking bullcrap and some other odd "auto" sensors it acts very weird at times. It did require a seperate operator, if you got out of the car while it was idling and closed the door it would lock auto on its own, If you unlocked while it was idling then start to pull up on the handle it would lock real quick...and some other quirks. But if you ask my wife it was the best upgrade she's had in a car..especially in Mid Winter and Mid Summer.
__________________
2010 6.4 LB CC 4x4

ROLL TIDE!
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #15  
Old 03-02-2010, 10:45 PM
bcangelo's Avatar
bcangelo
Offline
brandon
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Angelo, Texas!
Posts: 777
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

I know the one that i put in my truck has an option for a stick. But it was around $500 installed at best buy. It has a range of up to a mile and it works well. Has a little screen telling you what the temp is in your truck, if someone messes with my truck it tells me doors, hood, etc.. Really nice to go down to a warm truck in the winter. My wife's car had the factory remote start and it was crappy.
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #16  
Old 03-02-2010, 10:58 PM
jdgleason's Avatar
jdgleason
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,049
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

Ill get a hold of Scott down here.... He was talkin about gettin one put on his truck
__________________
'09 F350

-JD
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #17  
Old 03-02-2010, 11:17 PM
norris's Avatar
norris
Offline
It$ only money
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Middletown IN
Posts: 763
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

let me know what you find, i want that AND dvd....... were so deprived lol
__________________
Norris Farms- Where the trucks are, and the tractors' Green
'12 F350-KR,H&S,5"pipe,S&B,
'10 F350r-6.4,5in back,SCT/Innovative,Elite tranny,S&B,2.5" level,EGR Delete,Trutrac
'99 F250-7.3,8in on 38s,7in stack,AFe Intake...
Thanks to:
http://www.dpfdeletekits.com
http:/www.elitedieseleng.com
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #18  
Old 03-03-2010, 12:03 AM
JYFarmer's Avatar
JYFarmer
Offline
PSN Insomniac
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 561
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

Is there anyway to install one of these if you have the factory remote system. I really am dissapointed.
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #19  
Old 03-03-2010, 12:49 AM
bcangelo's Avatar
bcangelo
Offline
brandon
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Angelo, Texas!
Posts: 777
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

i know mine overrides the factory system but not sure on the remote start
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #20  
Old 03-03-2010, 12:23 PM
supr87gt's Avatar
supr87gt
Offline
PSN Local
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central, IL
Posts: 85
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

subscribing
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #21  
Old 03-04-2010, 02:12 PM
MudSouth's Avatar
MudSouth
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northwest Mississippi
Posts: 556
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blk04Snake View Post
My F250 had remote start.. It was ordered that way. From what I've read they have a separate building next to the KTP that installs this kind of thing. I wasn't too happy with it, had a separate key FOB for the starter and didn't have very good range. Ford has 2 different types of remote starters, one that is the separate FOB and one that has all the buttons for your doors too. These are made by Code Alarm.

I had searched on this for info for the new truck and the best option I've found is a place called KC Autosound... The guy pre-wires the systems specifically for your Ford and provides instructions and has them setup to interface with your door keypad and any other options you desire. Supposedly most of the remote starts out there won't let you retain the door keypad. I'm going to be getting one from him soon so I'll let ya know how it works out.
Is this the one your talking about? I think its the ford version.
http://kcautosound.com/Ford-c-736.html
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #22  
Old 03-04-2010, 05:20 PM
JYFarmer's Avatar
JYFarmer
Offline
PSN Insomniac
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 561
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by supr87gt View Post
subscribing
U get those mirror caps yet? Hope they werent damaged too bad man.
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #23  
Old 03-07-2010, 01:37 AM
bk005
Offline
PSN Newb
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MudSouth View Post
Is this the one your talking about? I think its the ford version.
http://kcautosound.com/Ford-c-736.html

Definitely call this guy. He turned me on to the Compustar, and it works perfectly, just what I wanted. He will also pre-wire for your truck ,and send instructions. Also answered my questions on A SUNDAY<<<<< WOW I was impressed.

Untitled Document
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #24  
Old 03-07-2010, 06:03 AM
Morkable's Avatar
Morkable
Offline
PSN Local
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, Alberta Canada
Posts: 290
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

I have the factory installed one on my truck,, imho it is junk. It is a seperate button, and all it does is start the truck. No range and will only let the truck run for 15 minutes. Our company truck has the dealer installed 2 way Ford Command start.. not sure how hard it is to install, but it is IMO better.. although the dealership swears up and down that it isnt that good of a unit
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #25  
Old 03-13-2010, 04:14 PM
MudSouth's Avatar
MudSouth
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northwest Mississippi
Posts: 556
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morkable View Post
I have the factory installed one on my truck,, imho it is junk. It is a seperate button, and all it does is start the truck. No range and will only let the truck run for 15 minutes. Our company truck has the dealer installed 2 way Ford Command start.. not sure how hard it is to install, but it is IMO better.. although the dealership swears up and down that it isnt that good of a unit
Does the one you dont like look like the one in this link?

http://kcautosound.com/Ford-c-736.html
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #26  
Old 03-13-2010, 04:32 PM
djanzen's Avatar
djanzen
Offline
PowerStroke Fanatic
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Saskatoon/Saskatchewan
Posts: 95
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

the ford remote start system is built by CODE SYSTEMS INC. you can look it up on the net, sign up on there site and have access to alot of information.
I have a pdf file with all years,makes and types of remote start. i am currently doing this to find a replacement remote for my truck. I have what ford calls the FORD GOLD REMOTE START AND KEYLESS ENTRY. had it for about five years range is very good 1/4 mile or better. I like it because it is one remote for doors and remote start.
Code Systems Tech Services
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 701066.pdf (68.1 KB, 37 views)
__________________
2003 SD 6.0 CC grey/black 195000KMS 4" lift 35" procomp extreme at
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #27  
Old 03-13-2010, 05:33 PM
bbbxcursion
Offline
ARMY bound
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6,990
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

The factory system I installed has the remote start and lock functions in 1 fob. There is not a separate fob for the starter, that would be stupid. You can program it to run for longer than 15 minutes. The 'wait to start' light can also be used so the glow plugs can be used in the winter. It can flash lights and do a bunch of other crap if you wire it in.
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #28  
Old 03-13-2010, 06:35 PM
Morkable's Avatar
Morkable
Offline
PSN Local
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, Alberta Canada
Posts: 290
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

man, mine looks nothing like either of those. I will take a picture of it later. but it is just 1 single button, and the lock unlock buttons are on a different fob. I hate it with a passion
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #29  
Old 03-14-2010, 03:09 PM
MudSouth's Avatar
MudSouth
Offline
PSN Veteran
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northwest Mississippi
Posts: 556
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by djanzen View Post
.... i am currently doing this to find a replacement remote for my truck. I have what ford calls the FORD GOLD REMOTE START AND KEYLESS ENTRY. ....
Are you looking to replace just a lost FOB or are you looking for a whole new system? If new system then why?
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #30  
Old 03-14-2010, 07:52 PM
djanzen's Avatar
djanzen
Offline
PowerStroke Fanatic
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Saskatoon/Saskatchewan
Posts: 95
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MudSouth View Post
Are you looking to replace just a lost FOB or are you looking for a whole new system? If new system then why?
Just the fob's, one has the symbols worn off of the button's the other did not like falling thirty feet to the concrete!
Reply With Quote Go to the top
  #31  
Old 03-14-2010, 08:43 PM
JYFarmer's Avatar
JYFarmer
Offline
PSN Insomniac
Member's Gallery
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 561
Re: Factory Ford remote start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by djanzen View Post
I have what ford calls the FORD GOLD REMOTE START AND KEYLESS ENTRY.
Code Systems Tech Services

I have that too. These freakin trucks are not cheap. But the freakin factory remote start aint worth buyin. Im going to put a clifford in mine if it can. I hate to pay for something twice.... but thats about my only option.
Reply With Quote Go to the top
Reply


(View-All Members who have read this thread : 65
06HD BOSS, 2010FX4, AlbinoRhino, BCB, bearbranch, BIG-T, Blk04Snake, bobush, cglenn, co04cobra, coolvette, Country, CPOSharkey, creekboy269, csilva187, darkstar, Dieslnevan2009, Dirt Floor Poor, dswindell1230, dueller, empireskidloader, Fahood333, farmman57, fastbee, fdny136, fireresource, Got4wd, harrymank, Hessdawg, hirollin87, isistwinteryet, jford03, kleake, kruser02, LuckyFarmKid, mddevore, mikek4599, mrbigzrio, mrivers, narcco, northid710, nukemF350, Patrickpsd, Polar, Pwrstrk23, raptor, rbowen9895, Rcdixon76, ricg, SANDDEMON08, shawz, Skunkskinner, spderjhn, Stang07, Stock., SUPERSTROKED, tensixniner, Tornitron, travisH3, truckman129, UniDub, vanislejimmy, wargle, _INDY_
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:46 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.