97 7.3 turns over but will not start. help please!! - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

Home Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum > F-250 & F-350 1986-1997 & Other Ford Trucks > 1994-1997 Power Stroke Technical Info
Register Members List Timeslips Calendar Auto Loans Sponsors Becoming a Sponsor Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

PowerStrokeNation.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 03-05-2012, 03:09 AM
wjjb2010
PSN Newb
Member's Gallery

97 7.3 turns over but will not start. help please!!

Hey, new to diesels here, im a great gasser mechanic but im having troubles with my diesel. Back in January i was hauling a repo on a trailer and i pulled over the get diesel and jumped back in and it would not turn over. i checked the starter but the problem was that the starter was hanging down by the main wires for it. I unhooked the stater and taped up the wires and got a pull start from a semi, i drove to the nearest Napa and bought a new starter...$250 later i was back on the road. i made it home from the 12 hour trip and the next day i went out there to start my truck and it didn't start as quick as usual. on my way to work it was cutting out and hesitating when i got on the pedal. on my way home it shut down and would not start back up till it got cold. The next day i changed the IPR o rings cause I was told to try that, it did not help. the hpop reservoir had oil in it, i changed the CPS, ICP, IDM, PCM. tested all the valve cover gasket and the tested good. got a snap on scanner from a friend and it had no codes and passed a buzz test. Then one day it finally decide to run again, it ran for about two weeks but it was running rough. Then the hpop bearings decided to explode and was shooting oil out the back of the pump. So I bought a new hpop for a superduty and a new IPR, new glow plugs, new stancor gpr, fuel pump and i also order new exhau